Bengali Food Fest at Courtyard Marriott – My Review

Chefjilebi
I was invited to the Bengali Food Fest – Bangali Bhuribhoj at Paprika Cafe by Courtyard Marriott Chennai, a CFG Showcase. The very sound of Bengali Food made my little heart leap for joy with love for the soft little rasagullas whirling in bubbling sugar syrup. So, I am a S-w-e-e-t-h-e-a-r-t now zzzzzzz 😉

Got a gracious welcome from the courtyard staff dressed up in Bengali style. I was trying to shut the slide show of SET pictures of Namma Sappadu food fest that was constantly running in my mind since I had stepped out of my home to the hotel. I loved very much the way they had transformed the paprika cafe for this food fest, apt as the previous one. It was a no-disappointment. Howrah Bridge wall poster, monument entrance cut out, Ambassador taxi cut out and even the coasters on the table were speaking Bengali with the added effect of Bengali music!! Wow!! These guys are really good in turning the fest mood on. I captured all this in my memory but not in my cam and so no pictures for the set 😦 That’s okay!! The pictures of their delicacies will compensate. Now to the fooood part 🙂 There was chicken and mint shorba soup for Non veg and I started straight away with starters.

Starters
Beguni Chop 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
Thin slices of eggplant dipped in mildly spiced batter followed by a deep fry in hot oil is beguni chop aka Kathirikai bajji. I loved it for there was no release of oil with each munch in the mouth. brinjal bajji.jpg Mutton Mince chop 🙂 🙂 🙂
Mutton Mince patties dipped in batter and fried in oil. One piece is heavy enough. It was served with a nice sweet n sour sauce.mutton mince cutlet
Egg chop 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
This was a egg variant with a twist, a layer of mashed potato covered the boiled egg, before it was dipped in batter & fried in oil. I am not a liker of mashed potato, therefor I would have loved it without that.muttabajji Mutton Kassa 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂  🙂
Tender meat pieces nicely cooked and blend in a spicy indian masala, this was my pick from the lot. It was soft to chew and juicy. Mutton Besides the above starters, we had crispy onion pakoras as well.

Main Course
Roi Maach Sarson Batta 🙂 🙂 🙂
Roi Maach Sarson Batta or the fish curry was not so favorite to me for it had bony fresh river fish. meen kolambu.jpg Murghi Mangso Jhol 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
Soft & tender chicken pieces swimming in a flavourful gravy served a perfect combination to the naans. There were regular naans served straight to our table. mutton gracy Fish Biriyani 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
Fish biriyani had tender & no-bony fish which I loved the most.  Nicely topped with crispy fried onions. A tinge of salt & spice was missing in the biriyani. Was it put on a lower spicy end to maintain authenticity? I cannot comment on authenticity here, oops 😉 fish biriyani
On the Vegetarian main course section, we had Lau Masoor Dal, Bhindi Bhaja, Aloo Posto, pulao, steamed rice, varieties of pickles too. Dal was on a lighter end, paired well with hot steamed rice. Bhindi Bhaja was soft, not much oily or spicy and perfect to have even with roti. As I said I am not a great lover of aloo in curry or  steamed mashed potato and hence I did not taste aloo posto. However, I was tempted to taste after hearing the reviews of other bloggers who tasted it. Looks like it was delicious and called for a second serving.

Desserts
The best part is here. Bengali is known for mithais and I was happy for having tasted them prepared by chefs from Bengali. There were live counters for Jelabi and Malpua.
Jelabi Live counter 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
What a joy of having hot jelabis !! But the jelabis were not melt in mouth kind which I felt after gulping two hot jelabis 😛 Yeah you cannot resist the taste of it. They were served with rich rabri topping. jilebi_live  jilebi with rabdi
Malpuas 🙂 🙂 🙂
Malpuas could have been more crispier with browned edges. I was not much satisfied about their texture. Malpuas were dipped in sugar syrup and served rich with a rabri topping. malpua
Rasagullas 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
Soft spongy rasagullas which ooze out the chenna blend sugary syrup with each bite. They were topped with almonds & saffrons and just perfect.
rasagulla-2-2
Besides the above dessererts, we had coconut ladoos which was a perfect go-to dessert, khoa filled cham-chams, parippu payasam and the brownies, mousses. Seems they are part of their regular menu. lot mousse Overall, the food was good, I personally felt that it could be much better with taste enhancement in couple of dishes like Malpua, fish curry and replacing the “chops” variants with different starters. However, the exciting part is we were told by the chef that there will be change in the menu each day of the fest including mishti doi, jhal muri etc, so I am sure they will come up with better varieties on coming days of the fest. Ours was the preview dinner. A buffet is priced at 1250 Rs nett and the Bengali food fest closes by Oct 3rd 2014.  To book your table, please contact +91 44 66764000. And Yeah, its true! Very Maach Bengali 😀

2 thoughts on “Bengali Food Fest at Courtyard Marriott – My Review

    • Thank you !! I would love to give them a try, will keep you posted 🙂 Cafegarima has the best rasagulla recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

